top of page
Search
  • Kumar Nambiar

Series #23 @ Lake County

The Lugnuts finished up the season in Cleveland against the Lake County Captains (Cleveland Guardians affilate). We did not finish strong going 1-5 on the week and finishing our season at 60-71, which was good for last place in our division (6th out of 6) but 9th out of 12th for the Midwest league. I got to pitch twice in our final week - Wednesday and Sunday.


On Wednesday, we played at noon. Typically, day games during the week are reserved for Kids Days when camps or schools will come to the ballpark for a field trip but this noon game was for Senior Citizens, definitely different. The P.A. announcer at the Lake County games is enthusiastic to say the least so it was pretty funny (for about one inning and then it was very irritating) to hear him try to stimulate the crowd.

I entered the game in the 7th inning and we were already losing by many, many runs. I gave up a single to the leadoff batter and then got two strikeouts followed by a ground out to end the 7th. When I went back out for the 8th inning it had already started raining but not too hard. The first two batters popped out in foul territory to our third baseman. The third batter of the inning and the three hole for the Captains hit a 3-2 cutter over the fence in right field to add to their lead, which was a real bummer. My stuff felt great and I was cruising. As he was rounding the bases, it started to pour and the ball was soaked in my hand. I started to rush because I wanted to get off the mound asap. Their hitter swung at a second pitch fastball and hit a slow ground ball right under my glove for an infield single. The umps pulled us off the field after that and thirty minutes later the game was called.

My family flew out for the weekend and I got to throw in front of them on Sunday. In the 6th inning - our pitching coach called down to the bullpen and said, “Nambiar will have the 4th batter of the inning,” which meant I had to be ready go incase the starter didn’t go 1, 2, 3. That call was followed by a single by the Captains leadoff hitter increasing my chances of going into the game significantly but on the next pitch he was thrown out at second trying to steal. And then a quick pop up made it two outs. I was standing on the bullpen mound ready to go in the game but knew that if the inning ended there, someone else would probably have the 7th inning. A single extended the inning and our pitching coach called again, “its Nambitime.” I walked the first guy after he took some close pitches and then next batter hit into an inning ending force out on a good changeup.


There weren’t many people in the stands so I could hear my family yelling from behind the dugout. My parents, my brother and sister, my aunt and uncle, two of my cousins, and my high school friend. What a great way to end the season.



I'm back in New York now for the off season. After seven months, it's nice to with my friends and family.


Thanks for following along this season. Your support is everything! More updates to come soon...

148 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Payoff Pitch…

For most professional baseball players, the end of their career comes too abruptly – a short conversation with the manager about how the organization is going in a different direction or maybe a call

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page